## 10 December 2009

## **Executive Board Recap, Day 1**

370 views

1 2 3 4 5 Current Rating: 3



©IOC/R.

Juilliart

The IOC Executive Board began its final meeting of the year in Lausanne, Switzerland yesterday.

The EB nominated six candidates - three men and three women - for election as IOC members in Vancouver. The six candidates are as follows:

- **HRH Prince Feisal bin Al-Hussein of Jordan**: President of the Jordanian Olympic Committee. He was nominated as an individual member.
- Maria de la Soledad Casado Estupiñan of Spain: President of the International Triathlon Union. Her candidature is linked to a function within an International Federation.
- **Barry John Maister of New Zealand**: Secretary General of the New Zealand Olympic Committee and an Olympic hockey champion. He was nominated as an individual member.
- **Dagmawit Girmay Berhane of Ethiopia**: Secretary General of the Ethiopian Olympic Committee. Her candidature is linked to a function within a National Olympic Committee.
- **Patrick McQuaid of Ireland**: President of the International Cycling Union. His candidature is linked to a function within an International Federation.
- Yang Yang of China: An Olympic speed skating champion. She was nominated as an active athlete.

The IOC currently has 112 members, but the number will drop to 108 at the end of 2009 with the expiration of the terms of office of four members: Walther Tröger of Germany, Tamás Aján of Hungary, Zhenliang He of China and Fernando F. Lima Bello of Portugal. The total number of IOC members cannot exceed 115.

The EB approved the IOC budget for 2010 and confirmed that, despite difficult economic circumstances, the IOC is in a very solid financial position, principally owing to an increase of broadcast rights revenues.

The EB granted provisional recognition to the World Transplant Games Federation and full recognition to the International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC), the Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM) and the International Cricket Council (ICC). The EB also granted recognition to "Generations for Peace."

The EB approved the change of sporting nationality for Iouri Podladtchikov, who aims to compete at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver in snowboarding. His nationality will change from Russian to Swiss.

On the anti-doping front, the EB agreed to take steps to ensure that host nations' authorities provide their full cooperation and support relating to doping matters, particularly in investigations and procedures regarding athletes' support personnel. The appropriate wording will be included in the Candidature Procedure and Questionnaire and the Host City Contract for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games.

The EB also decided to disqualify rider Andre Hansen (Norway) and his horse from the individual jumping competition and team jumping competition events at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing as a consequence of a positive doping test for a prohibited substance, Capsaicin, in the horse's sample and the subsequent decision by the CAS on 4 December 2009 to dismiss an appeal by Hansen and uphold the decision of the Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) Tribunal. The bronze medal for the team jumping, in which the Norwegian team placed third, will be redistributed to Switzerland.

Finally, the IOC reallocated the medals won by Marion Jones at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney. For more information, <u>click here</u>.